//
you're reading...
Everything Else

Google acquires Motorola Mobility

I’ve been waiting for an acquisition deal for some time right now.  This wasn’t the one I was expecting, to be honest, everyday when I wake up, and open my browser I am half expecting to be met by news that R.I.M has been taken over.  I guess they get to live for yet another day.  Even with this purchase, everything is suppose to remain the same at both companies and the Android O/S will remain open source and available to everyone, which to me is mixed news.  Buying a phone that can’t support some apps (lower end phones) and then can’t support the O/S update is usually a nightmare, especially to those who didn’t know.  Then you have apps that only work with the newer generation of phones which isn’t the best thing either.  Of course Google is trying to obtain maximum market share and this is the best way to do it.  But realistically, there is no excitement here, unless the newer generation of phones that come out from Motorola somehow blow the competition out of the water, but I don’t think I’ve owned a Motorola phone since phones and bricks used to compete.  Anyways, here’s the press release, I would say enjoy, but whatever…

 

About Raj Randev

I like to use technology to help me waste time, if by chance it helps with anything useful, that was just dumb luck!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
