//
you're reading...
Tablet Commentary

TouchPlayer for the TouchPad.

So one of the first things I did with my TouchPad was transfer an ‘Avi’ file over to test, due to the fact I used the RFD mentality of ‘Buy now, think later’ I didn’t even know that the native player on the TouchPad does not support these file types.  As anyone who knows anything about the iPad, this is pretty much the same issue.  As I was catching up in the RFD forums, user ‘ChineseDevil’ mentioned he used TouchPlayer and it was pretty good.  Apparently, to install TouchPlayer you have to Jailbreak the TouchPad but its called ‘Rooting” in the TouchPad world, anyways, I learned how to do that, and thought I would share that information.

First, you need to install Java, I already had that, but here is a handy link I picked up along the way.   After getting Java, you require a program aptly called ‘WebOS Quick Install.’  Start this program and on your TouchPad, and I swear to you, this is not a joke, input ‘upupdowndownleftrightleftrightbastart’ and the developer mode icon will appear.  Then plug in your USB to your PC and when the TouchPad prompts you to ‘Connected’ do not select anything.

Now, go here and download TouchPlayer, to do this you will have to create a Login I.D and register and then click on the download link that will appear.  The file ends in extension ‘.ipk’

Now, when you install WebOS Quick Install, make sure you say yes to all the options and click on the globe with the blue and red arrow around it.  The default Tab is Applications, so in search type ‘Internalz Pro’ and install.

From there click on the tab above called, ‘Services’ and then click on and install ‘FileMgr Service’ and yes to ‘Homebrew JS Service Framework’

From there, you should now go back into WebOS Quick Install and click on the ‘+’ sign and load ‘TouchPlayer’ (the file with the ‘.ipk’ extension) and click install.  From there, if you have done everything right, and after you transfer your T.V show and movie collection over, reboot your TouchPad, the TouchPlayer app will have been installed.

For a list of supported formats visit the Wiki Page here.

Many thanks to the following sources,

Here, here, and here.

About Raj Randev

I like to use technology to help me waste time, if by chance it helps with anything useful, that was just dumb luck!

Discussion

26 thoughts on “TouchPlayer for the TouchPad.

  1. Can you plz do a post on installing java in touchpad

    Posted by Elizabeth | August 26, 2011, 10:33 pm
  2. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS POST!
    video was my biggest disappointment when I got my touch-pad in the fire-sale.

    HD playback would be nice, but this is a huge huge improvement!

    I had some problems getting it to install from the sources. I ended up downloading the ipk file manually and then pointing the pre-ware java tool at it.

    very happy.
    T

    Posted by Tony | August 30, 2011, 6:45 am
  3. Thanks for your effort.

    I followed your instruction and installed touchplay. I tried to reinstall touchplay several times and make sure i luna restart each time. But touchplay is not working correctly.

    I have transferred few mkv 720p files and a mp4 file to my touchpad. touchplay will only play sound and no video if i kept setting unchanged. I can see the 1second video if i touch the screen or minimise the touchplay screen but it will not continue to play video only audio. If i changed audio enabled to OFF (top left setting), then i see video but no audio. Is this codec issue? can i update ffmpeg / ffmplay from somewhere?

    Please help

    Posted by Law | August 30, 2011, 12:55 pm
  4. Can you try to play an file with an .avi extension and see how that works? I’m researching the issue right now and will post a possible solution momentarily.

    Posted by Raj Randev | August 30, 2011, 1:29 pm
  5. Touchplayer isn’t showing any images, just audio. How do I fix this?

    Posted by anniie | August 30, 2011, 10:08 pm
    • Can you make sure that your WebOS is at version 3.0.2.68? Many of the color and no video issues have been solved by that. Some had to do a full WebDoctor reset, and others just simply rebooted the device, (turned off and on) and others had to do a Luna Reset. Going through the sources of information, I would suggest ensuring that your O/S is up to date to the one I mentioned and then turn the TouchPad on and off (Hard reboot) and then uninstall and re-install. More info can be found here,

      http://forums.precentral.net/webos-homebrew-apps/293654-touchplayer-4.html

      Please let me know how it goes!

      Posted by Raj Randev | August 31, 2011, 4:37 am
  6. I installed TouchPlayer, but when I try to play a .avi, I hear sound, and the video is just a bunch of random colors.

    Posted by Mustafa | September 2, 2011, 12:26 am
    • It’s been reported that you have to have WebOS fully up to date, and that means 3.0.2.68, some have it up to 3.0.2 and think they are when they check, but you have to be at this newer version. In almost all cases this was the issue, and where it was not, it was due to one of the requisite files not being installed. So an uninstall / re-install was required. And of course for those few engineers out there, a simple power on/off solved it.

      Let me know if that works, if not, refer to the precentral forums on this subject, there may be something I missed that you can try.

      http://forums.precentral.net/webos-homebrew-apps/293654-touchplayer-4.html

      Posted by Raj Randev | September 2, 2011, 10:33 am
  7. Thank you very much…. works like a charm. I hated having to convert my videos over. Now my touchpad can also be a portable dvd player. Smile.

    Posted by shell | September 3, 2011, 9:29 am
  8. downloaded touch player and was able to play rmvb video files, but for some reason it seems to lag….is this a problem with the video format or the player itself? anyway to resolve this?

    Posted by teresa | September 4, 2011, 11:01 pm
    • The video player is in the ‘alpha’ stages of its development, however a quick ‘overclock’ seems to fix this problem. Start off at 1.5ghz, found https://slicedapple.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/overclocking-your-touchpad-plus-patches/
      and if that is not enough, try the 1.7ghz ‘Warthog’ overclock. I recommend the 1.5ghz overclock because it is stable and you won’t notice a significant battery drain and the risk to your hardware is very minimal. At the 1.7ghz it is only slightly greater but I would suggest reading all the sources I have listed in my guide and make that decision for yourself. If 1.5Ghz is good enough, then stick with that. Good luck and let me know how it goes!

      Posted by Raj Randev | September 5, 2011, 12:09 am
  9. Really confused with your instructions. Can you indicate where to install webOS (touchpad or PC), where to install the touchplayer (touchpad or PC)?

    Posted by T | September 15, 2011, 10:59 pm
    • Everything is on your PC and then you install it to your TouchPad. The only thing you have to do on your TouchPad is put it in Developer mode, using the instructions ‘updown etc’ in the search bar as explained above. Use the picture as a reference.

      Let me know how it goes!

      Posted by Raj Randev | September 16, 2011, 8:28 am
  10. its working……i installed it tnx a lott:):):)

    Iam able to play video files but iam not able to play dem in full screen mode….

    can u please help me in this issue…

    Posted by Samyuktha Tatipelli | October 28, 2011, 4:37 pm
    • I’m glad it worked! It depends on what is full screen mode. Unfortunately, there may be some aspect ratio’s that are playing natively that are unable to be played in ‘Full Screen Mode.’ Try a few different files and see if they are all playing in different ratio’s. Or try double clicking on the screen.

      Let me know if that helps, or if I am off base, I will see if I can replicate your problem and do some tests and search google.

      Posted by Raj Randev | October 28, 2011, 7:06 pm
      • ohh tnx a lott for ur reply and concern…..

        I dint get u in d sense of different aspect ratios… I tried playing other files but its the same… should I uninstall and install the touch player??

        or switching to the version 1.0.5 will solve my problem??

        Posted by Samyuktha Tatipelli | October 29, 2011, 3:07 am
      • Reinstalling never hurts, but do not update the Operating System if prompted. Although there is a lot more advancement on it, there seems to be a random failure or ten that people are experiencing when upgrading the O.S. Not your issue I know, but thought I should add that in there!

        Posted by Raj Randev | October 30, 2011, 3:45 pm
  11. ok but please update me wen you find a remedy for full screen
    video…I’m dying too get that…

    Posted by Samyuktha Tatipelli | November 7, 2011, 1:24 pm
  12. very your blog excellent

    Posted by Anonymous | January 28, 2012, 12:30 am
  13. its tellin me I don’t have authorisation when ever I click the link for touch player is anyone else having this issue

    Posted by rob humphreys | April 18, 2012, 6:25 pm
  14. Thanks for the outline of television stuff.

    Posted by Dorcas | February 23, 2013, 5:36 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
