//
you're reading...
Jail Break Guides

Absinthe Jailbreak Guide for the iPad 2 and iPhone 4s

I’m just going to jump into it, so here we go!

iPhone 4s

Ensure that you take off your Passcode before starting!

This guide is for people with a Windows PC, start by downloading Absinthe from here.  Select Windows as your O/S, then Absinthe as your Software and Finally the only Version 0.2 and click on download.

Unzip the file and click on the folder you just created, make sure you know where to find it! From there click on  the Absinthe executable file (Green Poison logo with Windows Icon) it will load up a screen that looks like this;

Use the USB wire supplied with your iPhone 4s and connect it to your PC it should detect the iPhone 4s.  Click on Jailbreak when it does!

When the status bar gets to the end a message like this will appear,

I could not find anything that said “Jailbreak” however, I did find the ‘Absinthe’ icon on my fourth page and clicked on that. Yours may vary as to its location.  When I Jail broke the first iPhone 4s I had, it was nearly instantaneous this process.  The second one did not respond.  I had to unplug it (after waiting at least 15min each time) a few times before Cydia replaces Absinthe.  (the device will reboot once more before this happens)

When this occurs the Program will state iPhone 4s detected and at this point you can unplug it from your iPhone 4s.

Click on Cydia and it will display the message ‘Preparing File system’ Just let it do its thing, it will exit and reboot your device yet again. (very quick).

Click on Cydia and When the screen, ‘Who are you?’ pops up, click on User and then ‘Done’

Congratulations you have successfully Jailbroken your iPhone 4s.

iPad 2

Do same as above, but connect your iPad 2 instead. (LOL)

About Raj Randev

I like to use technology to help me waste time, if by chance it helps with anything useful, that was just dumb luck!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Absinthe Jailbreak Guide for the iPad 2 and iPhone 4s

  1. Raj.

    Will this work with my Iphone 4?

    Posted by davey | January 25, 2012, 9:50 pm
  2. Hi, I’m using iPhone 4s iOS 5.0… My Cydia icon dissappear cos I remove it at the Cydia package … So how I wan to restore back .. Pls reply!!

    Posted by Anonymous | February 12, 2012, 11:03 pm
  3. Hi, I’m using iPhone 4s iOS 5.0 and I already jailbreak my phone using absinthe … But I remove my Cydia in the package carelessly … How do I restore back again … Pls reply!!!
    Another question is my battery drop quite fast also… How to solve it cos I’m just bought last month… Thks

    Posted by Ik khai | February 12, 2012, 11:09 pm
    • If you deleted the cydia application, you can try re-installing cydia using apt-get from an SSH terminal.

      1. apt-get remove cydia
      2. apt-get install cydia

      Make sure your phone is connected to your wi-fi network. Have Putty installed on your PC. Start it with username: root password: alpine

      Posted by Raj Randev | February 13, 2012, 12:58 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Absinthe Jailbreak For iPhone 4S And iPad 2 Released for Windows and MAC! « The Apple and The Oranges - January 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
