//
you're reading...
Everything Else

How Apple has Integrated into My Life

‘Resistance is futile.’ It’s a line from Start Trek that a superior alien race uses before trying to assimilate other races and to some great extents represents what has happened to me and Apple, with Apple being that superior Alien race of course.  (Nerdgasm over I promise)

When I bought my iPad 2, Apple T.V 2, and the iPhone 4s I knew I would be using them but I didn’t realize that one day I would become completely dependant upon them.  There was a time, where I would receive a  bill in the Mail and would remember to pay it by leaving it on my desk until the due date drew near.  Now no longer do I let this paper work clutter my office (I have tons of other stuff for that), I open my Calender on either the iPhone 4s or iPad 2, insert the due date and amount owed, set an Alarm for the day before its due and wait until that alarm rings before I pay that bill.

With my iPad 2 I find that when the main PC in my household is off or occupied, I am more then content by surfing the web with the added convenience of being on the couch, kitchen table, or bed.   There was a time where my wife or brother would just pester me until I got off the P.C rather then boot up the notebook.

But its just not the addition of these individual tasks that is relevant, its the ecosystem that has been created, and I wasn’t even realizing how much I was using until sitting down to write this blog entry.

In the morning I wake up to my iPhone 4s alarm, immediately I check my calender for any appointments, bill payments, or any other scheduled events.  After brushing my teeth and grabbing a cup of tea, I’ll head into the office area of my home and start up my T.V and watch some news and then when I feel like checking out the stock market I’ll grab my iPad 2 and use the mirror feature along with the Apple T.V 2 and surf the web and watch a video or two.

I know, I know, not a show stopper or something super crazy, but its that seamless use that makes it worth it.  I had a friend who came over, he reads this blog (Hi!), and I was showing him a video on my iPhone 4s.  My brother came into the room and also wanted to see the video.  Instead of three of us huddling around this 3.5 inch screen, I tapped two buttons and used the Air Play feature to stream it to my 47″ HDTV in the office.  Although watching the video was the point, I could tell my friend was more impressed at how easy it was playing the video the way I did.

I’m not even sure what more can be done to improve upon my daily use of my smart phone and tablet, but I’m sure Apple will figure out some more things and I’ll be ready with my cash to buy them as well.

About Raj Randev

I like to use technology to help me waste time, if by chance it helps with anything useful, that was just dumb luck!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “How Apple has Integrated into My Life

  1. Having a macbook pro, apple tv, and airport extreme, and an airport express, I’ve re-discovered the magic of apple. You hit the nail on the head Raj. What is increasingly amazing, there are several iPhone video apps/programs that you can instantly stream to apple TV with just a push of the button on my 4s phone. Thanks for this blog. It keeps me in da loop!

    Posted by Mark B | January 31, 2012, 8:31 pm
    • Thanks for leaving the comment and reading the blog! Something I started as a simple hobby to try to hone my writing skills is now being viewed by about 2500 people a day! Its always terrifying when I click on that Publish button, but thanks for taking the time out of your day and responding.

      I think when people get their first Apple product its a bit of a novelty and they don’t use it for too much productive. Its really when you get that second and third product you realize its potential and start looking for ways to save time and money. Don’t get me wrong, I still waste tons of time just messing around with apps and whatnot, but now I can claim I have a productive use for them as well! LOL!

      Posted by Raj Randev | February 1, 2012, 12:03 am
  2. Hi Raj,

    Just wanted to thank you very much for all the info and tutorials on this blog. I have been following your blog since I got my atv 2 about 6 months ago and its been incredibly helpful and informative all through this time. In fact since the time I’ve set up my atv 2, I’ve had to set up a dozen more for friends and family. The atv 2 is an incredible product by itself and when you power it with XBMC it leaves most other media players far behind in what it can do for your entertainment system. I own only the mac pro and atv at present. Waiting for the launch of the iPad3 at which point will look forward to your help in powering it to do the more awesome stuff. So once again thank you for this blog. Will definitely be among the 2500 (and counting) people visiting your blog in the times to come. Cheers!

    Posted by Anonymous | February 3, 2012, 7:25 am
    • Wow that’s awesome! Thanks for leaving your comment, its great to know that people out there dig the effort! I can still remember 10 months ago when I started I used to get about 30 hits per day and I was absolutely mortified that 30 people were actually visiting and reading my stuff. If you go to the archives its still up and sometimes when I go back to read it, I think wow, did I really write that?!? And did people really read that?!? Lol. But apparently what my parents and teachers always told me about practising is true, the more you do it, the better you get!
      Thanks for reading my blog and coming back, I promise I’ll do my best to keep you coming back!

      Posted by Raj Randev | February 3, 2012, 9:34 am
  3. Great blog post.Thanks Again. Fantastic.

    Posted by Bria Perry | April 19, 2012, 7:41 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
